CQC announces appointment of three non-executive board members


The Care Quality Commission (CQC) has announced the appointments by the Secretary of State for Health of three non-executive Board members – Sir John Oldham, Liz Sayce and Mark Saxton.

Sir John Oldham is Adjunct Professor at the Institute of Global Health at Imperial College and was the Chair of the Independent Commission on Whole Person Care. Also, he was a member of NHS England’s National Quality Board and was the National Clinical Lead for Quality and Productivity at the Department of Health.

Liz Sayce is a member of the Government’s Social Security Advisory Committee and until the end of May 2017, she was Chief Executive of Disability Rights UK. Previously, she was the director of policy and communications at the Disability Rights Commission.

Mark Saxton has been a non-executive director of Yeovil Hospital NHS Foundation Trust, during which he has chaired its committees on workforce and remuneration. Prior to that, Mark held senior management positions in HR and general management in FTSE and NYSE listed companies both internationally and in the UK.

Sir John and Liz took up their positions on 1 January 2018. Mark will take up his position on 1 March 2018.

Peter Wyman, Chair of the Care Quality Commission (CQC), said: “I am delighted to announce the appointments of Sir John, Liz and Mark to our Board.

“Our three new non-executive directors bring a wealth of diverse experience which complements the expertise we already have and will help us deliver our strategy.

“On behalf of the rest of the Board, I would like to welcome them to CQC and I look forward to working with them.”


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.