Carers win top Meallmore care awards!


left-to-right-g-hennesy-md-r-hay-h-mcgachy-l-macraea-cambell-wA group of top Scottish carers have been recognised for their outstanding performance and dedication at the sixth annual Meallmore Awards, which took place last week.


Members of staff from Meallmore’s 22 care homes across Scotland came together at Perth Race Course to celebrate a successful year and recognise employees who make a real difference to the lives of residents and their family members.


Meallmore employs over 1500 staff across Scotland and all were eligible to be nominated for the eleven categories, which include Nurse of the year, Carer of the year and Excellence in Dementia. Nominations came from residents, family, friends, visiting professionals and fellow staff members and this year’s awards have proved the most popular yet, with over 700 nominations.


Gerry Hennessey, managing director of Meallmore, said: “At Meallmore, we believe it is extremely important to recognise the efforts of our staff. Our annual awards ceremony is an excellent opportunity to bring our teams together under one roof to celebrate all the hard work each member of staff puts in throughout the year. It is a great evening, which everyone looks forward to, and it gives us the opportunity to thank everyone for their continued support.


“I would like to congratulate our worthy winners and also personally thank all our Meallmore staff who go above and beyond to provide the highest standards of care for our residents.”


Meallmore is committed to providing high quality care and support, investing in staff training, engagement and communication to ensure residents have access to the best possible care.


The company has over 28 years of experience and provides a range of residential nursing, dementia and mental health care across Scotland.


Award winners include:


·         Nutrition & Eating Well: Stuart Middleton, Meallmore Lodge

  • Excellence in Support Service: Edna Burgess, Parklands Care Home
  • Head Office and Field Based Support: Wendy Adams, trainer for Aberdeenshire
  • Meaningful Activities: Rosie Hay, Auchtercrag Care Home
  • Staff Newcomer: David Cartwright, Oaks Care Home
  • Excellence in Dementia: Liza-Marie Macrae, St Olaf Care Home
  • Specialist Adult Care Worker: Linda Smith, Hilton Court Care Home
  • Nurse of the Year: Heather McGachy, Kincaid Care Home
  • Senior Care Worker: Steven O’Hare, Airthrey Care Home
  • Manager of the Year: Arlene Campbell, Crimond Care Home
  • Carer of the Year: Steven Forbes, Manor Care Home


Winners were presented with an iPad Mini, a gift bag provided by Boots and an engraved crystal plaque. All runners up and nominees also received a certificate of recognition.        


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.