‘Must go’ care home event seeks to reward quality care through quality design

The Pinders Healthcare Design Awards have become one of the ‘must-go’ diary dates in the care industry calendar.



Once again last week’s Pinders Healthcare Design Awards brought care providers and related industries together to celebrate construction and architectural design of care facilities across the UK.



Joining care operators from across the UK were healthcare lenders and brokers some of whom sponsor individual awards, and all take an active role in visiting and judging many of the entries. The panel of judges includes experienced healthcare valuers, architects, developers, lenders and care operators. The entries are judged initially on the entry forms and supporting documentation, with the shortlisted homes in each category being visited to decide on the winners



Winners of Best New Build (higher development bracket) owners TLC Group accept the award for Camberley Manor, Camberley -care industry news‘Pinders’ as the event has become affectionately known, aims to promote and recognise the best developments in all types of care-related property. The Award categories seek to acknowledge the contribution made by care home owners, designers and architects to the wellbeing and quality of life for those residents in their care.

As well as encompassing all aspects of care provision, including developments for the elderly and infirm as well as specialist homes for those with disabilities, care establishments of all sizes, types and locations are given the opportunity of taking part.

Whilst architectural standards and innovation are key factors, the overriding test for any project has to be the degree to which it has recognised the needs and desires of the residents and incorporated these into the final design.

The event recognises the important contribution made by the owners of all types of care home – irrespective of size or category of care. The judges look to reward quality of care, achieved through quality of design, rather than design alone.

The nominations were as follows:

Best New Care Facility (Younger Adults)

Caerlan, Llantrisant – Winner

Sole End House,Bedworth

Roman House, Bletchley

Best New Build (lower development bracket)

Rose Lodge, Maarket Deeping

Ty Cariad, Abergele

Bryn Seiont Newydd, Caernarfon-Winner

Best Independent Living Scheme

Lynwood village, Sunninghill

Tythe Lodge Extra Care, Southam

Audley Binswood Retirement Village, Leamington spa-Winner

Best New Build (medium development bracket)

Mary Rose Manor, Portsmouth

Dukeminster Court, Dunstable – Winner

Fremantle Court, Stoke Mandeville

Best Regeneration Project

Netley Court, Netley Abbey

St Bernards Care Home, Solihull

Austenwood Nursing Home, Calfont St Peter – Winner

Best New Build (higher development bracket)

Camberley Manor, Camberley – Winner

Waypoints Upton, Upton

Mayflower Court, Southampton





Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.