Meallmore Chefs secure spots in NACC Care Chef of the Year Scottish regional heats


Three chefs from the care home group Meallmore have secured spots in the Scottish regional heats of the National Association of Care Catering (NACC) Care Chef of the Year Competition 2020.


Brian Gollan from Ivybank House Care Home in Polmont, Anna Koziarska from Auchtercrag House in Ellon and Paul O’Brien from St Modans Care Home in Fraserburgh are the three Meallmore chefs who have made it into the Scottish regional heats.


The three chefs join two others from across Scotland to battle it out to secure a spot for this year’s national final.


The Scottish regional heats take place on the 20 March at the City of Glasgow College. Only two chefs from this round will make it through to the final to represent Scotland, where they will compete against ten other chefs from England and Wales.


Jody Marshall, group hospitality manager for Meallmore, said: “We are extremely proud that three of our chefs have secured places in the Scottish regional heats of this year’s NACC Care Chef of the Year Competition.


“Getting this far in the competition is a huge achievement for all three of our chefs. Their success reflects the quality of the food we produce at Meallmore, and the importance of good nutrition.  We are delighted that Meallmore are so well represented at these heats. We are hopeful our chefs will do us proud so that we can support them to represent Scotland in the finals in June.”


The final sees twelve chefs compete for the winning title. It will take place at Stratford Upon Avon College on 3 June 2020 where the overall winner will be announced. The winner will be decided by a panel of expert judges made up of chefs, suppliers and dieticians. Entrants will be rated on aspects including adherence to nutritional guidelines, taste, cost of ingredients, suitability for residents and presentation.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.